Ireland is funding organisations under the banner of enterprise without publishing the test that matters: which recipients are expected to survive on customers, which are intended to remain subsidised, and what measurable public benefit continuing subsidy buys. Our audit found a closure, failed commercial models, trading losses and repeated grants—but no recipient-level public account of private revenue, durable jobs, cost per outcome or a timetable for independence.

Funders do not disclose which recipients are expected to become self-supporting

Public bodies and philanthropic funders describe these organisations as enterprises, start-ups or scale-ups. Yet they rarely publish whether recipients generate enough customer revenue to operate after grant support ends. In several cases, the available records instead show organisations continuing to rely on grants, wage subsidies or contracts from public bodies.

  • The money is public: the historical €800,000 fund came through the State-controlled Dormant Accounts Fund. Routing it through Rethink Ireland does not make it private.
  • One recipient closed: GoingFar was voluntarily struck off after its directors certified cessation and no more than €150 in assets or liabilities. Its drawdown, close-out and recovery records are unpublished.
  • Two commercial warnings are documented: Recruit Refugees Ireland’s own SICAP case study says its original recruitment model failed to produce founder income; GORM’s 2024 trading produced a gross loss before more than €316,000 of other income.
  • Repeat subsidy is substantial: we traced at least €568,076 around Culture Connect, €1.088 million around TIRC and its projects, and €4,170,400.80 in published CSP wage-support allocations to ELSA Security through 2026. Those sums do not by themselves prove waste; they make outcome and dependency reporting essential.
  • The newer €900,000 minority fund is not mainly creating new businesses: its recipients include long-established organisations, an Approved Housing Body and a security employer whose advertised workforce nearly mirrors its Pobal-supported headcount.
  • There are genuine traders: KindFolk and We Make Good have functioning shops and private-market infrastructure. That prevents a blanket claim that every recipient is a shell, but neither publishes the project-level figures needed to prove profitability or independence.

The evidence does not establish fraud or show that every subsidy is unjustified. It does show that the public cannot see how continuing support is judged. If recipients are expected to become commercially independent, funders should publish the deadline and financial test. If the purpose is permanent subsidised employment or public-service delivery, they should publish the cost per sustained job or service outcome. Describing both models simply as “enterprise” obscures that distinction.

In this investigation
  1. Dormant Accounts public money
  2. The unnamed private donor
  3. Who can apply
  4. Abuse and control findings
  5. The Pobal audit
  6. The missing datasets
  7. What happened to recipients
  8. Eight historical recipients
  9. The five 2025 recipients
  10. The accountability test

The question funders have not answered. Is each award buying a business that should eventually stand alone, or a social programme expected to require continuing subsidy? Either can be a legitimate policy choice. Publishing neither the intended destination nor the cost per result prevents the public from judging whether the money worked.

The money in dormant bank accounts becomes public money

The historical Rethink Ireland Social Enterprise Start-up Fund was not an exclusively private scheme. The Department of Rural and Community Development and Rethink both said the €800,000 programme was created through the Department’s Dormant Accounts Fund.

Dormant Accounts Fund money is public money. It is held in a statutory fund, managed within the State system, allocated by ministers for legislated public purposes, delivered through government programmes and subjected to public accounting and audit. Paying it through Rethink Ireland, Pobal or a local organisation does not make it private.

For accuracy, it is not ordinary tax revenue. It originates mainly in long-dormant bank, building-society, credit-union and An Post accounts and certain unclaimed life-assurance proceeds. Owners retain the right to reclaim their property. Once placed in the statutory fund and allocated by government, however, it is properly described as public money drawn from the State-controlled Dormant Accounts Fund.

Four migrant- or intercultural-focused 2021 projects received published packages from that fund:

ProjectCashNon-financial supportTotal package
GOCOM Radio€9,000€3,000€12,000
Recruit Refugees Ireland€9,000€3,000€12,000
Culture Connect€9,000€3,000€12,000
Tralee Intercultural Coffee€9,000€3,800€12,800
Total€36,000€12,800€48,800

Rethink’s 2022 report names GoingFar, GORM Media, KindFolk and Saoirse Ethnic Hands on Deck among a larger cohort, but does not disclose each organisation’s individual drawdown. It reports €221,000 in cash grants across 25 awardees. Seven of the eight migrant- or intercultural-focused projects examined still show current public operating evidence. GoingFar Diversity and Inclusion CLG was voluntarily struck off and dissolved in January 2025. Closure alone does not prove misuse; the unanswered questions are how much it drew down, what outputs it delivered, whether a close-out review occurred and whether any money was recovered.

The newer €4.5 million fund has an unnamed private donor

Rethink’s three-strand Entrepreneurship Impact Fund totals €4.5 million: €3 million for growth and scale-up organisations, €600,000 for youth entrepreneurship incubators and €900,000 for five minority-led social enterprises. Each fund page refers to “a private donor” but does not name that person, company, family, trust or foundation.

Rethink’s annual report names many general supporters and also acknowledges anonymous donors. None can responsibly be identified as the Entrepreneurship Impact Fund donor without a fund-specific record.

The anonymity matters because a qualifying corporate gift to an approved charity may reduce taxable profit, while qualifying individual donations can allow the charity to claim tax relief with the donor’s authorisation. Rethink’s accounts also say approximately €8.5 million in philanthropic cash during 2024 enabled the drawdown of about €5.5 million in Departmental match funding through the Dormant Accounts Fund. The public accounts do not show whether any of that match was assigned to this €4.5 million initiative.

The defensible finding is therefore not that the anonymous donation was secretly public. It is that the donor is unidentified, any associated tax subsidy is unquantified, and any fund-specific public match is undisclosed.

Can anyone in Ireland apply for an enterprise grant?

Many mainstream schemes are nationality-neutral, but they are not open entitlements for literally everyone. An Irish citizen and a migrant who has permission to operate a business can apply through many of the same channels, provided each meets the scheme’s welfare, location, sector, company-stage, commercial-viability and matching-fund rules.

Local Enterprise Office Priming Grant

This start-up grant is available to eligible microenterprises during their first 18 months. Applicants can be sole traders, partnerships or companies. The enterprise normally must have no more than ten employees, be registered and operating in the relevant LEO area, trade commercially, demonstrate a market and show growth and job-creation potential. The grant can cover up to 50% of eligible investment, normally capped at €80,000, with awards up to €150,000 exceptional and subject to additional approval.

Back to Work Enterprise Allowance and Enterprise Support Grant

The Back to Work Enterprise Allowance allows eligible welfare recipients starting an approved new business to retain 100% of their qualifying payment in year one and 75% in year two. The associated Enterprise Support Grant can provide up to €2,500 for approved set-up costs. Applicants generally need nine months on a qualifying payment, advance approval, a business plan and registration with Revenue. A bought or inherited going concern, an existing business, or a franchise under an established brand is not eligible under the published operational rules.

SICAP enterprise grants

From 2024, SICAP can provide a once-off enterprise start-up grant of up to €2,500, with 20% matching funding required. It is not an immigrants-only programme. Its 12 target groups also include people in disadvantaged communities, the long-term unemployed, people with criminal histories, disabled people, one-parent families and island residents. But refugees and International Protection applicants are explicitly named target groups, alongside Travellers and Roma.

Immigration permission still controls self-employment

Not every non-Irish resident can lawfully operate a business. Immigration Service Delivery says Stamp 4 holders can establish and operate a business and may access State funds subject to programme rules. Stamp 1 permits business activity only where the person’s permission letter allows it. Stamp 1G graduates and spouses, Stamp 2 students and Stamp 3 holders are not permitted to establish a business or become self-employed under the general stamp conditions. A support programme naming a group does not override immigration law.

Abuse is a legitimate audit question—and the State has found it before

The possibility of abuse cannot be dismissed as prejudice. A Department of Social Protection control survey examined 401 Back to Work Enterprise Allowance claims. It found 12 claims—3% of the sample—with excess payments representing 3.3% of sampled scheme expenditure. The excess expenditure included 1.6% where claimants were not involved in viable self-employment, 1.3% where required information was not provided and suspected fraud was recorded, and 0.5% where eligibility conditions were not met.

The controls made a material difference. Eleven of the excess-payment cases came from claims predating the July 2017 introduction of three- and nine-month reviews; only one came from the later group. Yet the Comptroller and Auditor General’s examination of 25 files found five cases where required reviews should have been conducted but were not.

That is documented non-compliance and a documented control weakness. It justifies asking for current fraud, error, closure, recovery and business-survival figures. It does not justify attributing the problem to immigrants: the published control survey did not provide a nationality or immigration-status breakdown.

Pobal is where the audit trail breaks apart

Pobal administers programmes on behalf of government departments and the EU. It is not the ultimate private source of the money. In 2024, Pobal reported distributing approximately €1.316 billion across 38 programmes, dominated by early-learning and childcare expenditure. The Department of Rural and Community Development separately paid Pobal €13.209 million in administration and service fees.

The public can find scattered programme totals and award lists. It cannot download one consolidated ledger showing every recipient, amount approved, amount paid, programme purpose, funded posts, outcome and recovery. That makes Pobal the obvious public-spending audit target. It is a transparency chokepoint, not proof by itself of corruption.

Our first recipient-level audit captured 911 public rows:

ProgrammeRowsPublished amountWhat the published text shows
Community Centres Investment Fund, Categories 1 and 2774€33.902m in 2024 award lines€29.111m general-access/local community; €4.791m other targeted causes; no award explicitly classified as migrant- or ethnic/religious-minority-specific.
Scheme to Support National Organisations81€20.806m over 2022–2025€1.325m migrant/refugee/new-arrival-specific; €543,066 ethnic/religious-minority-specific; the remainder other targeted or unclear/mixed.
WorkAbility56Individual amounts not publishedAll projects are disability/employment focused; recipient counts can be audited but spending shares cannot.

That exercise found two small but concrete reconciliation failures. The SSNO webpage says 82 organisations received funding, while its attached schedule contains 81 identifiable allocation rows. The 774 CCIF award lines add to €33,902,318—€21 more than the combined totals printed in the two official PDFs.

The explicitly migrant- or minority-labelled money found in those schedules is concentrated in SSNO: €1,868,353 across seven organisations over 2022–2025, about 9% of the disclosed schedule. That classifies organisational purpose from names and published descriptions; it does not establish the nationality of every beneficiary.

The much larger datasets remain unavailable

The Department transferred €52.390 million for the Community Services Programme in 2024. Official annual allocation schedules identify each CSP organisation, its supported managers and FTEs, and its maximum allocation. This fills part of the ledger, but not the decisive part: allocations are not proof of actual payment, and the schedules do not disclose trading income, public-contract income, payroll, job progression or cost per sustained outcome. The SICAP IRIS database contains target-group, support and outcome information for roughly 50,000 participants but is catalogued as non-open data.

Official reporting says 16,404 New Arrivals received SICAP support across 2022 and 2023—30% of its individual caseload. Seventy-two per cent of that group was Ukrainian, 21% asylum seekers and 7% refugees. Caseload share cannot be converted into spending share because participants receive different supports at different costs.

Separately identifiable 2024 Pobal-related lines include €14.092 million for Ukraine accommodation and related costs and €11 million in SICAP New Arrivals funding. The combined €25.092 million is a floor for explicitly labelled migrant/new-arrival activity, not a total for every migrant beneficiary and not evidence that the remaining Pobal distribution was reserved for Irish nationals.

What the historical businesses became

The public record does not show a wave of private vape shops receiving migrant-only grants and repeatedly reopening. These recipients were mainly charities, companies limited by guarantee and social enterprises. That does not remove the commercial test. The programmes were promoted as enterprise development, and continued legal existence is not proof that customers can carry the organisation.

We tested continuity, unrelated private customers, quantified outcomes, reliance on later subsidy and disclosure quality. Public contracts, grants, donor logos, framework appointments and pilot testimonials were not counted as private-market proof unless payment and commercial terms could be established. Unknown is recorded as unknown. Closure establishes failure of continuity, not fraud.

Eight recipients, eight different results

The recipient names below link to the organisations’ current public websites so readers can inspect their services, shops and claims directly. A live website is evidence of activity, not proof of profitability or independence from subsidy.

RecipientHard findingAssessment
GOCOM Radio / AMDAFActive output, but only one clearly private client found; no usable accounts, audience or advertising results. A separate GOCOM CLG appeared in 2026 without a published transfer explanation.Active grant-supported media; independence not shown
Recruit Refugees IrelandIts SICAP case study says the recruitment model did not suit it, it had “very little money or income,” and founder income was still not achieved after three years.Original recruitment enterprise failed commercially
Culture ConnectAt least €568,076 in identifiable public/EU awards and allocations since 2019; almost no priced private-customer evidence.Publicly financed provider; stand-alone viability not shown
TIRC / Coffee PodAt least €1.088m identified for the parent/projects. Its manager said funding was needed to keep the café going. Separate café economics are unpublished.Operating subsidised training café
GoingFarVoluntarily struck off after its directors certified cessation and no more than €150 in assets or liabilities. Domain is parked for sale.Closed; commercially failed; public value unresolved
GORM Media2024 turnover of €95,442 did not cover €95,663 direct costs. A further €316,889 of other income financed overheads and the reported surplus.Commercially dependent in 2024
KindFolkReal consumer checkout and 745 available products at our 12 August check. At a €12.50 median available price, its own consignment terms leave roughly €5–€6.25 before labour and overheads. CRO records show accounts to 31 December 2024 were filed; we have not yet obtained the filing, and the shop does not publish profit or the annual 33% social-return calculation.Genuine private retail; accounts filed, profitability not yet tested
Saoirse / Sanctuary CateringOnly 27 craft products available and no new listing since June 2025. Repeated awards are visible; every named catering customer found was a state service or publicly funded organisation.Commercially dependent; private-market proof absent

GoingFar: the clearest closure

GoingFar did not merely disappear online. Under the voluntary strike-off procedure its directors certified that the company had ceased or never carried on business and held no more than €150 in assets or liabilities. It was struck off in January 2025. Its latest and apparently only accounts are a four-page 2023 filing available for purchase; we have not yet obtained them. Rethink has not published the individual drawdown, milestones, assets bought, unspent balance, close-out report or recovery decision. A pre-award fundraiser raised €1,506.35 of a €5,000 target; its earlier claim of 800 people supported cannot be counted as a result of a later grant.

Recruit Refugees Ireland: historic commissions, but a commercially degraded product

A West Cork Development Partnership SICAP case study is unusually direct. It says a private recruitment model did not suit the project, pro-bono work did not solve viability, the founder-income goal remained unmet after three years and social enterprises of this type would need state subvention. The same case study also supplies important counterevidence: relationships with employers including Musgrave, and commissions, employer income and donations that were said to cover operating expenses by 2022. It does not disclose the amounts, number of paying employers or renewals.

The current product is harder to defend. The public site exposes no working vacancy board, candidate account, employer portal, pricing or placement results; its main candidate, employer, login and call-to-action routes do not present distinct commercial journeys. Historic reports mention 229 sign-ups, ten volunteers working across 14 languages and “many” placements, but not a placement count, salary, employer-paid commission or six- and 12-month retention. The legal parent remains active and filed accounts to August 2025, but a later €68,700 Rethink award financed Citadel, a different music and cultural project. Cultural attendance cannot be used to prove that the original recruitment enterprise survived.

Assessment: it would be wrong to say Recruit Refugees Ireland never traded. It is equally wrong to treat an active company and a homepage as proof of a functioning recruitment business. The evidence points to an original commercial model that stalled or pivoted, with current viability unresolved until the organisation publishes commissions, paying employers, placements and retention.

GORM: profitable only after non-turnover income

GORM’s audited 2024 accounts allow the strongest financial test. Turnover was €95,442 and direct costs were €95,663, a €221 gross loss before staff and other overheads. The company then recorded €316,889 of “other income”: €33,622 in restricted grants and €283,267 under the broad heading “miscellaneous income.” Its €25,974 surplus existed because other income exceeded the trading loss and overheads. EY and PTSB are real private-sector names, but the public record does not show what they paid or whether either renewed.

Culture Connect and Coffee Pod: activity inside major public-funding streams

Culture Connect was incorporated in 2011, a decade before its “start-up” award. We identified at least €568,076 in public/EU awards and allocations since 2019, including Erasmus project budgets and a €200,000 capital allocation. The figure mixes capital and project funding and is not a claim that all was unrestricted or fully drawn. Its website shows continuing services and one fixed consumer price, €50 a month for after-school care, but no normal buying path or price for translation, mediation or training. Sponsor and partner logos are dominated by public, EU and philanthropic bodies; none is accompanied by a paid private contract or renewal value. The commercial problem is therefore not absence of activity, but absence of private sales, margins and named paying clients.

TIRC and its projects have at least €1.088 million in identifiable support: €777,000 from the HSE across 2022–24, €146,000 from Tusla in 2022–23, €151,000 in capital support and smaller awards. Coffee Pod is a real outlet and may deliver useful training, but no menu prices, till sales, footfall, food costs, labour costs or separate accounts are published. More than 50 people trained and “most” working are useful claims, but not a retention dataset or cost-per-job calculation. The manager’s statement that it would have been difficult to keep the project going without funding is direct evidence that the café should be evaluated as a subsidised employment programme, not presented as a self-supporting retail business.

GOCOM: broadcasting is real; a self-financing media business is not shown

GOCOM continues to broadcast and publishes an actual commercial offer: €700 a year for programme sponsorship, with low-cost membership tiers. It also claims first-year reach of up to 24,000 listeners. But the methodology behind that audience number is absent, there is no direct sponsorship checkout, sponsor count or renewal rate, and only Bolas Fashion among its four named clients is plainly a private commercial business. Galway Rural Development, Galway City Council and the Nigerian Embassy make up the rest of the list, without evidence that any logo represents a paid contract.

The parent, AMDAF, filed accounts to December 2024, but the filing has not been obtained and its public reports do not split advertising and membership from grants, donations or public support. Identifiable awards include Rethink, Social Entrepreneurs Ireland, integration and Galway local grants. GOCOM therefore has stronger market evidence than a grant-only project, but historic volunteer dependence, a weak buying funnel and no private-revenue total leave commercial independence unproven.

KindFolk and We Make Good show why every recipient cannot be labelled a shell

KindFolk’s live shop has substantial current consumer stock and a functioning checkout. The legal entity, KindFolk Ireland CLG (CRO 670644), is active and filed an annual return in October 2025; the registry index records accounts made up to 31 December 2024. The exact eight-page statement is listed for purchase for €6, alongside earlier filings. That corrects an important distinction: accounts exist in the CRO record, but the filed document is not freely reproduced on KindFolk’s site and we have not yet purchased and analysed it. The public-facing shop therefore proves activity, not profitability. A 2023 profile reports more than 1,100 garments donated, which is a real in-kind output, but the site does not disclose turnover, gross margin, payroll coverage, net profit or an annual reconciliation of the stated commitment to direct 33% of net profit to children’s causes.

We Make Good, examined in the newer cohort, also has a live shop, current inventory, private stockists and business-to-business services. Both businesses demonstrate genuine commercial infrastructure. The remaining test is subsidy-adjusted performance: sales, gross margin, payroll coverage, grant share and unrestricted surplus.

Saoirse: repeated growth awards, but a very small visible market

Saoirse Ethnic Hands on Deck is an active CLG, and its Sanctuary Catering project provides a second potential revenue stream beyond crafts. The visible shop was nevertheless small at our audit date: 33 products, 27 available, a median listed price of €16 and no new product published after June 2025. Sanctuary Catering publishes no menu, package prices or buying path. Its first named clients and testimonials were HSE Healthy Cities, an HSE migrant hub and publicly supported cultural organisations. That is evidence of delivery, but not ordinary private demand.

The organisation has repeatedly won support: the 2022 Dormant Accounts-backed start-up cohort, the Mná na hÉireann fund, an IMPACT competition placing and the 2025 Breaking Barriers fund. Repeat selection may reflect credible delivery. It may also conceal a project unable to finance paid work from customers. The missing figures are annual craft and catering sales, private/public customer split, gross margin, compensation paid to participants, posts financed from sales and the exact amount drawn under each award.

The €900,000 Minority Fund: five established organisations, not five new start-ups

It is too early to declare a three-year programme a final success or failure. It is not too early to establish the baseline. Each of five recipients may receive up to €60,000 annually for three years. The selected organisations include long-established charities, a housing body, a security employer already supported through Pobal and existing projects with earlier public funding.

RecipientPre-award evidenceBaseline assessment
APNINetwork founded in 2016. It reports €180,000 in grants secured and €10,500 invested in African-led start-ups, but no revenue mix, paid contract values or verified placements.Credible corporate access; commercial viability unproven
ArtsEktaFounded in 2006. Audited 2024 accounts show £740,028 from grants/co-funders—82.3% of income—and £159,259 trading. Trading did not cover staff costs.Solvent and substantial; demonstrably subsidy-dependent
CenaApproved Housing Body supported by the State since 2013; social housing is financed through statutory schemes. The linked Irish Council for Social Housing profile is the clearest public organisational page found.Publicly financed by design; fund-specific additionality undisclosed
ELSA Security€4,170,400.80 in published CSP allocations in 2018–26, funding one manager plus 20 FTEs annually. Its claimed 21 guards nearly mirrors that headcount. It disclosed a financial crisis in 2025.Real employer; structurally dependent on wage subsidy and public contracts
We Make GoodProject founded in 2018 inside Quality Matters, a 2012 charity. The parent has €1,186,865.43 in published CSP allocations for 2021–26 and won three public consultancy contracts with a combined €566,115 award value in 2025–26; neither figure can be attributed to the shop. The project has live retail and private stockists but no project-level revenue or margin accounts.Real trading; project independence unproven inside a publicly financed parent

ELSA Security: an ordinary service carrying an employment subsidy

ELSA Security is not funded because guarding is an innovative product. The stated social-enterprise purpose is to employ people distant from the labour market and provide free or below-cost security to community organisations. Its historical impact report says workers received accredited training, at least ten local groups received services and commercial contracts were intended to subsidise the community work. That is a coherent public-policy purpose. The problem is that the report is approximately 17 years old and is not evidence of present results.

The older and newer subsidies also buy different things. Official Community Services Programme schedules show €4,170,400.80 allocated to ELSA from 2018 through 2026. Each year funded one manager and 20 FTEs; the 2026 allocation alone is €615,100. Across nine schedule years that is 189 supported manager/FTE post-years and an average allocation of about €22,066 per supported post-year. That is an allocation ratio, not a cost per job created: the public record does not identify employee turnover, hours, progression or which posts would exist without CSP. CSP is a wage contribution for not-for-profit social enterprises that employ specified target groups and generate some trading income; it is not a start-up prize. Separately, Rethink says the new Minority Fund award finances a Traveller Employment Progression Project intended to scale ELSA’s North Dublin model nationally for Traveller and Roma communities. Rethink does not publish ELSA’s exact drawdown, baseline, employment target, placement target or cost per sustained job.

ELSA’s current site claims 21 full-time guards. Those may not be the same people as the one manager and 20 CSP-supported FTEs, but the near-exact alignment makes the subsidy-adjusted headcount central. A secondary transcription of 2020 accounts reports €730,103 turnover, €17,297 EBITDA and €10,677 profit after tax: margins of about 2.4% and 1.5%. That year’s €412,660 CSP allocation alone was equivalent to 56.5% of turnover, before state-contract revenue. Current accounts to 31 December 2024 were filed in August 2025; the underlying 18-page filing is obtainable from the company-record service but has not yet been purchased and analysed.

ELSA also competes for ordinary State security work. OPW disclosed €140,236 excluding VAT for static security at Green Street in both 2021 and 2022 under a contract extended beyond its original term. The procurement defect was the OPW’s; it is not evidence that ELSA caused it. ELSA was subsequently selected on lots of a 2024 national security-services framework. Framework admission proves eligibility to compete, not revenue actually earned. Its published customer list includes schools, Dublin City Council, the Department of Justice, Daughters of Charity, a community centre and Doors and Floors; only the last is plainly a conventional private business, and no contract values or private/public revenue split are supplied.

The strongest dependency evidence comes from ELSA itself. Its 2025 lobbying returns sought political help to bid for incumbent OPW work or delay the tender, requested additional Pobal funding, described a financial crisis and said replacement work was required to stay in business. ELSA is therefore a real employer and a real security provider, but the public cannot tell how many jobs its customers would sustain without subsidy, how many supported workers progress into unsubsidised employment, or how much free community security is delivered per public euro.

Assessment: the evidence does not establish misuse. It establishes an unresolved additionality test. If CSP already supports virtually the advertised workforce, Rethink should identify the extra Traveller and Roma employment outcomes bought by the new award. Pobal should publish target-group recruitment, progression, trading income, public-contract income, payroll and viability returns. Without those figures, taxpayers cannot distinguish a measurable labour-market intervention from a continuing payroll subsidy to a security contractor.

ArtsEkta: audited delivery and audited dependency

ArtsEkta is financially solvent, reports substantial audiences and earns real ticket and service income. Its audited accounts nevertheless show the existing scale rests on subsidy: grants and co-funders supplied 82.3% of 2024 income, trading 17.7%, and trading could cover only 20.3% of expenditure. It reported a £114,920 surplus, £772,886 in net assets and £598,825 cash, so this is not an insolvent shell. The correct additionality question is narrower: the €180,000 award supports all-island expansion of a Northern organisation founded in 2006, while the Republic CLG was only incorporated in September 2025. Rethink should publish the Cork/Republic baseline, public and private income, local payroll, audience and the earned-income target at which the expansion can continue without the award.

APNI: major corporate access is not the same as corporate revenue

APNI can point to real relationships with LinkedIn, Bank of Ireland, Google, Irish Life, Grant Thornton, Publicjobs and other employers, a live vacancies page and substantial reported attendance. Its 2024 claims include more than 2,386 event attendees, 150 vacancies advertised, 89 Lion’s Den business registrations and €10,500 invested in start-ups. Those establish network reach, not hires or commercial income.

APNI publishes no membership price, employer-listing fee, sponsorship value, paid-client contract, private-revenue share or job-retention result. Its claim of €180,000 in grants secured exactly matches the maximum three-year Rethink package available to it, although the public post does not say whether that was paid, committed or comprised several grants. Until it discloses what companies actually pay and how many participants obtain and retain jobs, APNI is a credible professional network whose self-financing enterprise model remains unproven.

Cena: the correct test is additionality, not retail sales

Cena should not be condemned for failing a shop-style market test. It is an Approved Housing Body whose assigned function uses public housing finance. The unanswered question is what the entrepreneurship award purchases beyond existing Department-funded administration and capital: extra homes, faster delivery, Traveller construction employment, paid tenancy roles or a replicable service sold to councils. Rethink’s short profile does not say.

We Make Good: genuine trading, but no project-level viability account

We Make Good is not a paper enterprise. Its shop has current inventory and a functioning checkout; it offers corporate gifting, wholesale, white-label and manufacturing services; and its named stockists include clearly private Irish retailers. That is stronger evidence of private-market reach than grantor logos or testimonials. The funded project began in 2018 inside Quality Matters CLG, incorporated in 2012, so the 2025 award is scale funding rather than formation of a new start-up.

It also has a long public-support trail: Probation/KickStart support, an earlier Rethink award, Dublin City grants, Circular Economy funding and ongoing Pobal Community Services Programme support. The CSP schedules now make the parent-company scale visible: Quality Matters was allocated €1,186,865.43 from 2021 through 2026, supporting 48.6 manager/FTE post-equivalents across those annual schedules. Its 2026 allocation is €283,255 for one manager and 9.5 FTEs.

The parent is also a substantial public-sector consultant. These are not grants to We Make Good: they are competitive service contracts awarded to Quality Matters CLG. The three published tender values total €566,115 excluding VAT.

Public buyer and valueWhat Quality Matters was commissioned to provideTender details
Competition and Consumer Protection Commission
€200,000 excluding VAT
An evaluation framework and external evaluation services for Ireland’s financial-education policy and initiatives. The scope includes designing impact-assessment toolkits; defining goals, indicators and KPIs for the National Financial Literacy Strategy; advising on monitoring and comparable data collection; guiding analysis and reporting; and externally evaluating selected initiatives or the overall strategy. Open procedure; three tenders; four-year duration; 75% quality and 25% cost. Quality Matters was selected on 28 August 2025 and the contract was concluded on 22 September 2025. The estimated value and winning tender value were both €200,000. Contract ID 424624; tender ID 000127314. No subcontracting declared.
Department of Children, Disability and Equality
€116,125 excluding VAT
A statutory operational review of services established by the Birth Information and Tracing Act 2022, required under section 70 of that Act. The procurement classifications cover surveys, economic and social research, performance review and evaluation consultancy. Open procedure; three electronic tenders; estimated duration 21 months. The Department estimated €121,950; Quality Matters’ winning tender was €116,125. Scoring allocated 90% to understanding/research design, policy context, delivery plan and team, and 10% to cost. Contract concluded 2 December 2025. Contract ID 433102; tender ID 000135572. No subcontracting declared.
Department of Education and Youth
€249,990 excluding VAT
Discussion facilitation and note-taking for the Convention on Education. The notice requires facilitation of groups of more than 50 people—including young people and people with additional needs—using a deliberative-democracy model, across four convention weekends in 2026. Open procedure; two tenders; estimated duration 27 months; 80% quality and 20% cost. The Department estimated €250,000; Quality Matters bid €249,990. It was selected on 24 February 2026 and the contract was concluded on 26 February 2026. Contract ID 439410; tender ID 000154916. No subcontracting declared.

These notices establish the contracted scope and tender value, not that every euro has already been paid or that every deliverable has been completed. The contracts were concluded recently and may remain in delivery. A separate Department of Education disclosure records €149,300 for trauma-informed facilitation in an earlier procurement. Together, the records show real competitive service activity at parent level, but it is State-customer activity and says nothing about We Make Good’s retail result. The CSP and consultancy figures are Quality Matters figures, not We Make Good project figures, and cannot responsibly be treated as the shop’s subsidy or sales without a project split. Identifiable project awards exceed €72,000 before several undisclosed awards and the possible €180,000 current package. Its cumulative claim of 37 people “trained & employed” is not a current headcount or job-retention measure. Without project-level sales, gross margin, CSP wage subsidy, payroll, private/public customer split and unrestricted surplus, real trading cannot yet be equated with independence.

The conclusion

The evidence does not support calling every recipient a fraud or every euro wasted. It supports a harder conclusion: GoingFar closed; Recruit Refugees Ireland’s original income thesis failed; GORM traded at a gross loss; several recipients sit inside substantial public-funding ecosystems; and only a minority publish clear evidence of ordinary private customers. Rethink and the State possess the contracts, income tables and monitoring reports that would settle the remaining questions. They have not published them.

The accountability test

What can now be filled—and where the public record stops

QuestionWhat is now establishedWhat remainsSource that can resolve it
How much support?Named grant awards and annual CSP allocations can be reconstructed. ELSA has €4.170m in 2018–26 CSP allocations; Quality Matters has €1.187m in 2021–26 allocations.Actual drawdown, payment dates, underspend and recovery.Department and Pobal payment ledgers; Rethink grant agreements; the pending FOIs.
Can customers carry it?GORM and ArtsEkta publish accounts permitting a grant/trading test. Shops and advertised services establish activity for KindFolk, We Make Good and GOCOM.Private sales, gross margin and public/private customer split for most recipients.Recipient management accounts; filed CRO statements; grant-monitoring returns; direct right of reply.
What does subsidy pay for?CSP schedules publish supported managers and FTEs. Fund pages describe broad projects.Which named project uses each post; customer-funded versus grant-funded payroll.Pobal annual returns, payroll schedules and project cost centres; recipient accounts.
Did jobs last?Some recipients publish cumulative training or employment claims.Unique participants, paid hours, wage level, exits and six/12-month retention.Pobal/SICAP IRIS extracts, Rethink outcome returns and recipient payroll records.
Was independence expected?Rethink set a portfolio objective of 20% average growth in traded income and reported 182% for the Start-Up Fund. BTWEA separately requires viability planning and three- and nine-month reviews. CSP is explicitly continuing co-funding for services with limited earning potential.Recipient baseline, denominator, absolute euros and the exit or continuation rule attached to each award.Applications, assessment sheets, contracts, baseline surveys and review reports.
What happened when a model failed?GoingFar dissolved; Recruit Refugees Ireland’s SICAP case study records its pivot.Close-out decision, funded assets, unspent cash and recovery action.Rethink/Department close-out files and Pobal monitoring records; pending FOIs.
Who financed the fund?The €4.5m initiative identifies only “a private donor”; Rethink also receives Dormant Accounts match funding at organisation level.Donor identity, exact contribution, tax-relief treatment and fund-specific State match.Rethink donor agreement and Department matching contract; FOI subject to any lawful exemptions.
How does performance compare?An Enterprise Ireland programme evaluation reported 80.9% survival among assisted client firms versus 63.6% for a non-assisted cohort.A like-for-like control group for early-stage social enterprises; the Enterprise Ireland firms are not a valid direct comparator for this cohort.A commissioned evaluation linking CRO survival, grant data, employment and revenue by legal form and enterprise stage.

The distinction is not semantic. Official social-enterprise policy recognises a spectrum: some organisations sell commercially and use profits for a social dividend; others deliver services that conventional firms will not provide and may require continuing support. The disclosure failure is that award announcements use the same enterprise language for both without publishing which model applies, what level of earned income is realistic or how success will be judged.

Twelve information requests are now seeking the missing records

On 12 August 2026 twelve separate Freedom of Information requests were sent. The first six went to the Department of Rural and Community Development and the Gaeltacht, Pobal and the Office of Public Works. Six recipient-specific follow-ups then went to Galway City Council, Coimisiún na Meán, publicjobs, Louth County Council and Pobal. The requests seek existing records rather than asking public bodies to create explanations.

  • Historical Start-Up Fund: legal grantees, awards approved and drawn, the data behind Rethink’s claimed 182% increase in traded income, employment outcomes, survival and evaluations;
  • GoingFar: its agreement, payments, monitoring, close-out, grant-funded assets, unspent balances and any recovery decision;
  • Entrepreneurship and Minority Funds: the private donor record held by government, any Dormant Accounts match, recipient baselines, exact drawdowns, selection scoring and additionality;
  • ELSA/Pobal: CSP payments, supported posts, traded and public-contract income, payroll, progression outcomes, viability assessments and the decision on additional assistance sought during its financial crisis;
  • Recruit Refugees Ireland/Pobal: SICAP support, placements, employer income, retention outcomes and records concerning the failed recruitment model and subsequent pivot;
  • ELSA/OPW: Green Street contracts and payments, the non-compliant extensions, ELSA’s tender representations and whether the incumbent work was retained or replaced;
  • GOCOM: Galway AMDAF and Coimisiún na Meán award, payment, audience, output and completion records;
  • APNI: the publicjobs agreement, payments, procurement route and aggregate appointment outcomes;
  • Culture Connect: Louth allocations, contracts, monitoring reports and recorded trading or sustainability outcomes;
  • We Make Good: Pobal/CSP payments, supported posts, project-level trading data, progression outcomes and viability reviews;
  • TIRC/Coffee Pod: Pobal-administered support, café trading figures, job outcomes and sustainability assessments.

Right-of-reply questions have also been sent to the named organisations and Rethink Ireland. We will publish material answers and released records, correct factual errors, and distinguish a refusal, a missing record and a commercial-sensitivity redaction rather than treating them as the same thing.

Before asking the public to trust the system, Rethink Ireland, Pobal and the commissioning Departments should publish:

  • the identity and legal type of the Entrepreneurship Impact Fund donor, unless a stated and justified confidentiality rule prevents disclosure;
  • the private contribution, charitable tax relief and Dormant Accounts match attached to each fund;
  • a consolidated Pobal recipient ledger showing amounts approved and actually paid;
  • actual CSP payments, annual monitoring results and project-level cost centres to sit alongside the already-published allocation and funded-post schedules;
  • an anonymised SICAP table covering target group, enterprise support, expenditure, business start, survival, employment and traded income;
  • current BTWEA and Enterprise Support Grant control-survey results, overpayments, recoveries and closures;
  • grant outcomes at 12, 24 and 36 months, including dissolved organisations and recovered balances;
  • a reconciliation of the SSNO 82-recipient claim and the €21 CCIF arithmetic difference.

Until those records are published, two sweeping claims remain unproven: that immigrants are uniquely favoured across the whole enterprise system, and that abuse is merely imaginary. The evidence shows targeted access, public money, documented non-compliance and a fragmented audit trail. The next step is not speculation. It is forcing the State to publish the ledger.

Get the weekly briefing

Public money, named recipients and the records government bodies still do not publish.

Primary sources

Continue reading